June 2007: Institutions of Democracy working group meeting

On June 23, 2007, the Institutions of Democracy working group met to chart a path forward for the initiative. Participants grounded their discussion with a collection of short, idea-generating pieces prepared by members of the group. Conversation transitioned to a focus on the main obstacles of reform of the election system and the types of policies and institutions that would enable the election system to run better.

Meeting participants included:
Stephen Ansolabehere (MIT, Political Science)
Bruce Cain (University of California-Berkeley, Political Science)
Guy-Uriel Charles (University of Minnesota Law School)
Edward “Ned” Foley (Michael E. Moritz College of Law, The Ohio State University)
Heather Gerken (Yale Law School)
Richard Hasen (University of California-Irvine, School of Law)
Jennifer Hochschild (Harvard University, Government)
Samuel Issacharoff (NYU School of Law)
Pamela Karlan (Stanford Law School)
Alexander Keyssar (Harvard Kennedy School)
Michael McDonald (George Mason University, Public and International Affairs)
David Moss (Harvard Business School)
Nathaniel Persily (University of Pennsylvania Law School)
Richard Pildes (NYU School of Law)

News Category: 
Institutions of Democracy
Tobin Project News